The Amazings

I blogged about The Amazings a couple of weeks ago over at My Make Do and Mend Year, and have somewhat belatedly realised that it would be a really fab post for all you lovely lot too!

The Amazings is a project set up in London last year offering ” fun, friendly, informal, classes and courses for you to learn everything from feltmaking to joinery to journalism — directly from people with lifetime knowhow”. And this is the unique, and ‘Amazing’ bit, all of the teachers are over 50. And they are all “passionate about their interest, and want to share their wisdom”.

Screen Shot 2013-07-07 at 21.34.23

Up until now, unless you lived in London, you were unable to avail yourself of all this Amazingness. But not any more…

They have just launched a range of online classes, and I was given the chance to review 4 of them:

  • Make a Mosaic Flower Pot-this one is pretty simple but would definitely be enough to get you started if you wanted to have a go
  • Make Your Own Natural Beauty Products-I really liked this one-it showed you how to make a total of 6 different beauty products, and had a downloadable PDF of all the recipes too. I am definitely going to try out some of these, and they would make great pressies too!

sea salt body scrub1

Sea Salt Body Scrub

  • Retro Hair Do-I think I am getting glammed up if I even blow-dry my hair, so this was a little out of my league, but the idea is to take the fear factor out of doing your own ‘Up-Do’. Didn’t quite work for me-any talk of heated rollers and I am running for the hills, but if it’s your kind of thing, then it would be cool to be able to sit and work through the videos, and obviously you can rewind and re-play as many times as you like!
  • Make an Heirloom Patchwork Quilt-this is really great. I have always been quite scared of Patchworking, but this takes you through step by step how to hand-sew a hexagon patchwork quilt, using reclaimed fabrics. I am now far more likely to have a go :)

New courses are being added all the time-one a week for the rest of the year, so check it out-you are sure to find one you like! You can find the full range as it stands at the moment here-I am eyeing up the Upcycle a Men’s Shirt into a Summer Dress one, especially after my last Upcycling disaster….
and if you want to have a go, you can use this code to get your first online course for FREE!!! http://bit.ly/11YqoJ8

Enjoy!!

One thought on “The Amazings

Leave a Reply

