How to finish off a quilt?

I’m a bit of a hexie fan having made my first patchwork quilt using English Paper Piecing when I was 15. I’ve carried on making hexies of all sizes but I have to be honest and admit to not finishing many projects since then!

Over the last few months I’ve been making a doll quilt using the Grandmothers’ Flower Garden pattern. I’ve really enjoyed making it, from cutting out hundreds of small paper templates measuring just 2cm wide, to  choosing my fabrics and making up the hexagons.

The great thing about this pattern is that it’s pretty easy to make bigger, which is just as well as mine has grown according to the size of my daughters’ dolls! I’ve written about it quite a lot on my blog here and here.

doll quiltNow I’m at the stage where I want to finish it off and I need a little help. I’ve obviously had a look for this kind of quilt on Pinterest but I can’t make my mind up what to do.

In its current form the two long sides are straight but you can see I’m not sure what to do with the ends. One end follows the shape of the flowers and the other I’ve tried to square off but I think it looks a little messy. Ideally the quilt would be a rectangle but how do I do this?  Should I add some binding? And in what colour?

I have a pretty brown fabric for the back of the quilt and I think I will finish it off by hand tying the layers. Any advice out there please? If someone comes up with the answer I absolutely promise to finish off my quilt by the end of July!

2 thoughts on “How to finish off a quilt?

  1. Pingback: Have you tried English Paper Piecing? | PinAddicts Challenge

Leave a Reply

