Creating miniature pieces of art

A couple of weeks ago I signed up to make and swap a textile ATC. ATC’s, otherwise known as Artist Trading Cards, are miniature works of art measuring 212 by 312 inches. I really like the idea of creating something in miniature. You can make ATCs  using any media, I think they originally started as paper but are now produced in many forms, including dry media, wet media, paper media, metals or textiles.

My partner has asked for something Vintage/Shabby Chic/Retro but not made any colour preferences. I had a good look through my Pinterest boards for inspiration and I don’t think I need to tell you how many ATCs have been pinned. A quick search of ‘textile ATC’ or ‘art cards’ and I saw more than enough to get me started.

First I made a cardboard template to see just what size I was working with. 212 by 312 inches is really small and I’m finding quite fiddly to be honest. So far I’ve tried a couple of little projects, my favourite is my version of the Union flag using different pieces of blue fabric for the background, some vintage red ric rac and white ribbon. textile ATCTo fulfil the vintage element I thought I would try cutting up some of my vintage embroideries.  Some of the flowers are quite small and would make a lovely feature. I would love to know if you’ve ever tried creating an ATC. If so, please share any tips which might help me and my fat fingers!

My name is Jenny and I also blog over at the gingerbread house.

One thought on “Creating miniature pieces of art

  1. I love this! I’ve never heard of it before, but I googled it earlier and was astonished at what a breadth of media it incorporates. It reminds me a little of fabric postcards (but even tinier).

Leave a Reply

