Textile Pottery

I’ve long been a fan of bowls, cups, saucers and coasters that are made of porcelain, but are made in the form of knitted textures or lace impressions.

I’ve no idea how you can make a mould from something that is made of a floppy fabric, but they are beautiful works of art.

Last year I found this set, which I bought for my mum’s 60th birthday and designer Clare Gage has some beautiful items.

There is also a designer called Annette Bugansky who makes amazing bowls and cups too, but also tealights and lamps.

Screen Shot 2013-05-22 at 16.49.38

Click image for source: http://www.annettebuganskydesign.com

Obviously these pieces are made by real artisans and not something that us eager pinners can knock up at the weekend. However, I have found something which I think is a rather decorative contender for the diy crafter.

6a01156f70f21e970c01538e016c8e970b-500wi

Click image for source: http://www.urbancomfort.typepad.com

These have been created by covering a ceramic cup/bowl/vase with lace fabric. The tutorial here gives detailed instructions and photographs. I’ve added it onto my ‘must do’ craft list. I’ll be on the look out for some lovely embroidery anglais to have a go with.

Leave a Reply

