St George’s Day crafts

Happy St George’s Day! Yep it’s that time of the year when the English celebrate their patron saint. We’ll gloss over the fact he wasn’t actually British but probably Palestinian. I’m sure every child knows the legends of George slaying the dragon and I’ve certainly enjoyed sharing it with my children.

I thought it would be fun to do some George and the dragon crafts with them so turned to Pinterest for inspiration. Hmmm, for once there were very slim crafty pickings.

The pins I did find ranged from an amazing George and the Dragon flip doll pattern (pictured below), to intricate shadow puppets, how to make a Knight’s shield and a toilet roll dragon which I’ve added to a new George and the Dragon Pinterest board.

St. George

So, what did I make with my 1 and 3 year old? Well over the last couple of days we’ve made a fun hand print dragon as well as an egg box dragon. Neither will win a prize for being best in class but we had lots of messy fun with them đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

