Ikea hack – mini chest of drawers

Today I thought I would write a little more about a project I briefly mentioned on my own blog, the gingerbread house. A while ago I was looking to increase my sewing/haberdashery storage. The sewing box I was using was too small and I came across a set of wooden drawers in Ikea which offered lots more space for my needles, buttons and threads.

You’ve probably all seen the excitingly named Moppe mini chest of drawers –

image from ikea.com

image from ikea.com

It’s pretty simple, wooden, with 6 drawers of varying sizes. As soon as I spotted it I knew I needed it and bought it! I also thought it would be easy to personalise which was important to me.

Being a huge fan of Orla Kiely (even though I can usually only afford the odd handbag or notebook) I thought the mini chest of drawers would look great covered in Orla Kiely paper. I had previously lined a vintage suitcase with her stem print wrapping paper so gathered up what was leftover, found some spray mount and set to work.

I really wanted the stem print pattern to flow across the front of the drawers which was a bit tricky but with some careful measuring and a very sharp scalpel blade I just about did it. Hop on over to my blog to see the final version – I would love to know what you think. And if you’ve put your own stamp on any Ikea purchases please leave a link in the comments so I can come and take a look!

3 thoughts on “Ikea hack – mini chest of drawers

Leave a Reply

