Its Sewing Saturday!

So who watched the fabulous new sewing programme ‘The Great British Sewing Bee’ on BBC 2 on Monday? I love it already! It so great to see sewing featured on mainstream TV. I am just glad that I didn’t enter as sewing under that much pressure looks really hard!

sewing bee

Its really made me want to do a bit more dress making and perhaps try some adult clothes rather than just childrens clothes. There are so many fab sewing tutorials on Pinterest. I have a board full of pretty childrens clothes to make which you can find here and I think I need to start an adult one too! I particularly loved the tutorial for this tiered skirt which I made for this months Pinterest challenge. This is was the original pin

88e5ecf4608ad45c3381a002ad4135bb

and this was my version.

001

Its really twirly!!

007

If you are feeling inspired to make something after watching the Sewing Bee programme. Don’t forget you can always make some pillowcase dresses for the ‘Dress A Girl Around the World’ Project. The dresses which are really simple to make can be sent to me and I will make sure that they are distributed abroad to girls living in poverty. You can find out lots more information here. We have collected well over 4,000 dresses and distributed over 3,000 to girls in over 15 countries including Malawi, Ghana, Kenya, Uganda, India, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia.

Ghana2 Malawi Dress PicMonkey Collage  Uganda1

My name is Louise and I blog at Sew Scrumptious. I’m a a bit addicted to fabric and talk about sewing a lot!

4 thoughts on “Its Sewing Saturday!

  1. Loving the twirly skirt Lou! Can you make me one..?!
    The hall is booked and the date is set for our Dress A Girl sewing day-can’t wait!

  2. I missed the programme on the tv. Hubby was watching one prog and recording another, but I found I could watch in on catch-up on my computer next day! Great. I agree with Louise – much too much pressure for me, but I sew (pun intended) enjoyed the programme. and it gave me some ideas for future sewing.

Leave a Reply

